Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hey y’all I finally got my interview back from Artist Billy Creason. Yep, that’s right, THE Billy Creason from “Billy Creason and The Dam-Fi-No Band”. I know it took him time to get back with me as he’s a very busy artist and doesn’t have a lot of time outside of music and family for stuff like this, so I am honored that he found time to get back with me. It’s a great feeling knowing that artists actually take time to get back with a “nobody” like myself. But you know what, every single artist, songwriter, etc. that I’ve interviewed, has made me feel very special. Not a lot of people would give me the time of day, not knowing me personally. With that said, Thank You Mr. Creason and ever other artist, songwriter, producer, etc. that has given me the amazing opportunity that y’all have given me to do what I love doing! I’m very honored and will remember each and every one of you til my dying day!

If you have never heard of Billy Creason and The Dam-Fi-No Band, you’re about to. Right here you will learn a little bit about Mr. Creason himself, as well as where you too can find his music on the web. Check it out, right here. The 411 from the man himself…Mr. Billy Creason!

Photo Credit: Twitter©BillyCreason

Photo Credit: Twitter
©BillyCreason

TCB: Can you please give our viewers a short bio about yourself?

BC: I’m a singer/songwriter. Spent 8 yrs in the USMC. Married to my best friend, Father of a 13 yr old girl and an 8 yr old boy. I love to entertain, and share music with who ever will listen.

TCB: How long have you been n the Music Industry?

BC: I’ve been performing professionally for 11 yrs.

TCB: What would you say is your favorite part about being an artist/songwriter?

BC: I love the way an idea, thought, memory, or event can become a song or a story. I love how we can bring it to life through music. And when you see how people react to it, that’s the greatest feeling.

TCB: Where would you say is your favorite place that you have performed at?

BC: It’s hard to pick one but I would probably say Ozzies Island in Columbia, Sc. Always a great crowd and the treat us like we are family. Bucked Up Super Saloon is our home venue and they are awesome as well .

TCB: What is the daily life of Billy Creason like?

BC: If I’m home I help get the kids to school, gym, then about 2 hrs. on the computer. I try to cook for my family at least twice a week, I play acoustic shows most Tuesday and Wednesday evenings.

TCB: What would you say is the hardest part about being on the road?

BC: Being away from my family. As soon as we are done with a show, I’m the first one loaded up and ready to get back home .
TCB: That’s a true sign how much your family means to you! Big thumbs up to you!

TCB: You make it home from a long road trip, what is the first thing you do when you get home?

BC: Kiss my wife, hug my kids and dogs lol. Then its off to eat, or Wal-Mart. Sometimes we go to the movies. Then relax as soon as possible.

TCB: Where’s your favorite place to eat while out on the road?

BC: Bojangles!
TCB: I’ve heard a lot of people praise that place. Guess I’ll have to try it one day. If I ever get to go on a road trip!

TCB: What is your favorite home cooked meal?

BC: My wife’s meatloaf, green bean casserole, and her sweet corn recipe.
TCB: One of my favorite meals, is my 16 year-old daughters homemade Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, and Homemade Macaroni & Cheese! 🙂

TCB: What are you favorite things to do while out on the road, when you aren’t performing?

BC: We go to the local mall, see the sights if we are in a new city. We try to relax as much as possible.

TCB: Are you currently signed to a Record Label?

BC: Yes we are with BoyInTheSouth Records, but our contract is up soon and we will be looking to move. We have had some very nice offers and we will be making a decision soon.
TCB: I just learned something new. I was not aware that you were signed to a label. Congrats. And best wishes to you & your band on finding a new label that’s right for you!

TCB: Do you have a manager/promoter, or do you usually do all of that stuff yourself?

BC: We are represented by J.R. Smith and Outlaw Booking and Management Agency. They handle 80% of our booking in the Southeast. We also use NLM Promotions for all our PR needs and Promos.

TCB: Do you have any one in particular that you look up to in the music industry?

BC: Too many to list, but Jamey Johnson because he has not let the Industry change him. He is true to his fans and to the music. I really admire that.
TCB: I agree. There are so many artists that have let the Industry get the best of them and they aren’t the same as they were when they first began. It’s Sad!

TCB: Ok, you’re home from being gone on the road for a few days, and its bitter cold/rainy outside. What would you say you do to occupy your time since it’s a rainy/cold day?

BC: Grab my guitar and play, or write music. My son is learning to play guitar so we spend the time together.
TCB: That’s great that he’s following in your foot steps! You are a great role model for your kids. My son wants to learn guitar so I guess he’s going to either take lessons up the road from our house (by a professional) or just learn online.

TCB: Do you have any new music to be released anytime in 2013?

BC: We released our debut albumRedneck DNA” back in June 2012, but we are working on a new EP for fall 2013.

TCB: Other than your own performances, what’s concert would you say was your favorite to attend?

BC: I got to see Garth Brooks before he retired, it was amazing . Can’t wait till he comes back full-time.
TCB: I heard he may be coming back full-time, but I wasn’t sure if it was a fact or just a rumor! Thanks for the info 🙂

TCB: What age were you when you decided hey I want a career in Music?

BC: It was after my military career and my not so great Rodeo career. I was 24 when I started, my wife thought it would be safer than Bullriding.
TCB: I have to agree with your wife! Smart move you made!

TCB: Are you a full-time music artist, or do you also have a full-time job other than music?

BC: I am full-time, I tried to do both but it was tough so I decided to focus primarily on music. I do still have my CDL License and drive for a friend when he really needs help.

TCB: Out of all the songs you have recorded, what’s your favorite?

BC: “My Granpaw” I wrote it about my grandfather Billy Hodges.

TCB: An aspiring artist approaches you for advice on how to make a successful career in music, what advice do you give them?

BC: Never give up and always remember that the fans are the most important thing. Keep them entertained and always stay true to yourself. It’s a tough business but it’s rewarding when you look in the crowd and they are singing your song with you!

TCB: Do you have any Foundations, Organizations, Charities, Causes, etc. that you donate to or perform benefits for?

BC: Oh yes we are involved with St. Jude’s, Pink Heals, St. Baldricks and ASPCA!
TCB: I’m going to be very honest with you. I LOVE seeing St. Jude’s on so many of these interviews! St. Jude’s deserves every donation they receive! They do so much for families!

TCB: If you could travel anywhere in the world to perform, where would you choose and why?

BC: Hawaii, I was stationed there for a little while and I love it there . Elvis made it cool to perform in Hawaii.

TCB: Where can our viewers find you, and all of your music links (Facebook Fan Pages, etc.)?

BC: On Facebook and Reverbnation @ Billy Creason and The Dam-Fi-No Band. Our website is www.damfinoband.com and you can follow me on Twitter @BillyCreason78

TCB: Is there anything else you’d like viewers to know about you or anything you’d like to add that I may not have covered in this interview?

BC: Just to keep their eyes open for us. We are gonna be hitting the road hard in 2013. And thanks for the support!
TCB: Personally, I would love for y’all to come to Arkansas. Say somewhere like Little Rock or maybe Jonesboro! Even Searcy, Arkansas! Any place close to Searcy, Arkansas and I’m gonna promise you.. I’ll be there! With bells on!

And that sums up my interview with Singer/Songwriter Billy Creason of Billy Creason and The Dam-Fi-No Band! I don’t know about you all, but wow, he has a lot on his plate. He seems to be Superman! He juggles a full-time music career and still makes time for his family (which is amazing and I’m so glad to have read that response), he makes time for important things. And he made time for me. To give me the answers that we all wanted to know!

If you haven’t heard Billy Creason & his band, go check out their music on the links provided above. I guarantee you, you’ll be a fan from the beginning!

Thank You Again Mr. Creason for taking the time to get back with me and give your fans and potential new fans a little bit of info about you and what it’s like for you on a daily basis, etc. You’re a hero! Keep doing what you do and keep me informed about new music releases, etc. I’ll keep this interview/article updated with any new information you’d like me to post on it.

Once again, thank you! This was a great honor!

The Country Buzzz
Remember, you can find TCB’s Links on the Side-Bar to the left of ALL pages! Use those links. Become a sponsor @ GoFundMe.com. Follow the blog via email. Follow TCB on Twitter, Like TCB on Facebook, and hell we even have Pinterest (nothing posted there yet lol). See something you like, Pin it to Pinterest 🙂 And don’t forget to follow The Country Buzzz on ALL categories possible for Sulia. <—-Main categories are listed under TCB’s Sulia Profile! Hope to see y’all interacting at all the sites listed above! 

 

