Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been having a time with getting interviews out as quick as I’d like to, due to some things going on in my personal life (being a full-time mom, wife, and home school parent, plus my health issues, etc.), but I promise y’all I’m trying. Just please be patient with me like y’all have been and we’ll be ok. 🙂 Y’all are what keep doing this! I have great viewers and supporters for what I do & I hope I never lose y’all.

A few weeks ago, I had sat down and sent Artist Amanda Jo an interview (via Email of course). She has finally found time to get back with me. (Thank You Amanda Jo for taking time out of your super busy schedule to get back with me!) Amanda Jo is a very busy artist, living in Nashville, you know she’s busy! I could only imagine what it’s like to be an artist living & performing in Nashville. Hell, I’ve never even been to Nashville, but IT IS on my BUCKET-LIST! Yay! I will go there someday! Ok, enough of the small talk 😉 let’s get on with Amanda Jo’s interview with TCB! Enjoy!

Photo Credit: Twitter©AmandaJo

Photo Credit: Twitter
©AmandaJo

TCB: Can you please give our viewers a short bio about yourself?

AMANDA JO: Hi y’all! My name is Amanda Jo and I’m a country music singer/songwriter from Nashville, TN. I’m a girly girl who loves the color pink, spicy food, reality TV shows and cowboy boots. I’m passionate about life. Music has been the love of my life since I was a kid and I can’t imagine my life without it.

TCB: How long have you been in the music industry?

AMANDA JO: I’ve been in the music industry for most of my life. I started performing at local county fairs and talent shows when I was five years old. When I was in junior high school, I had the privilege of being a performer with The Minnesota Opera. When I got a little older I discovered country music and I’ve been singing that ever since.
TCB: Don’t get me wrong. I’ll listen to ALL genre’s of music. But (in my opinion) there is no other genre of music that speaks to you, like Country Music! Well, with 1 exception-Gospel Music!

TCB: Do you write your own music or do you have certain co-writers you work with?

AMANDA JO: Yes and Yes. I write my own music by myself the majority of the time. I’m just starting to dive into co-writing which is a lot of fun too. It’s a blast to have someone to collaborate with and it’s such a cool feeling to create something together. Most of the time, writing is more as a therapy session for me than anything else. It’s an outlet for me to be able to process how I feel about a situation or circumstance.
TCB: I don’t know if you have ever read other interviews here, but I personally have interviewed some AMAZING songwriters! I follow them on Twitter (and did before I even started this site, others I am just getting to know). A few that I highly recommend are: Trey Willeford, Harold (Howie) Garoutte, Lexy Gilman, Alex Cartwright, Maria Danielle, Brittany Bexton, Mary Sarah, oh Dear Lord. The list goes on and on. You can go through MY following list on Twitter and look them all up right there. They are amazing! I don’t want anyone to feel like I left them out intentionally, because that’s not the case. Every one I have encountered on Twitter that writes, is amazing! I just named a few off the top of my head.

TCB: Did someone or something inspire you to pursue a career in music?

AMANDA JO: This may sound funny but I feel like music chose me more than I chose music. I was lucky enough to discover something that I’m passionate about when I was very young. There was a period of my life where I took a break from music and it felt like a big piece of me was missing. My love for music is what gets me up in the morning and keeps me going when the road gets tough.
TCB: A lot of people don’t know that I sing. I have been singing since I was little bitty! But I’ve only performed a few times in front of others. I could kick myself in the butt every day, for NOT following MY DREAM! I wish I had.

TCB: Are you currently produced by anyone?

AMANDA JO: Not currently, but I will once I’m ready to release a new project. I do have an EP that is currently available for download on iTunes and Amazon.
TCB: One GREAT Producer, is Donnie Alan w/ Dragon Rock Productions! I’ve linked his name to his Twitter account if you’d like to follow him, tweet him, etc. Lexy Gilman just released her very first ever single “We Are One” thanks to the help of Mr. Alan.

TCB: Have you been offered a record deal, but decided not to take the offer?

AMANDA JO: Yes. It just wasn’t the right deal.
TCB: I’ve been hearing that a lot lately. And personally, I think that some Record Label Companies, really don’t put forth what they “could” for great potential clients, such as yourself and many others I’ve had the opportunity to speak with.

TCB: Do you manage yourself or do you have a manager?

AMANDA JO: I am currently working with a manager.

TCB: What is the best advice you could give someone who is interested in pursuing a career in the Music Industry?

AMANDA JO: Always remember why you’re in music in the first place because it will sustain you through the difficult times. Be true to yourself. Be humble and grateful for every opportunity to do what you love. Be willing to take constructive criticism and be proactively searching for ways to grow in your craft. Be good to people and build genuine relationships with them. And have fun!
TCB: I think that’s wonderful advice. I know a lot of young “aspiring” artists that need to read this, because they are not at all able to take any sort of criticism and in order to make it, they’re gonna have to learn how to!

TCB: Do you perform locally only at the time, or do you travel?

AMANDA JO: I’m currently doing most of my performing in the Nashville area but I am open to traveling as well.

TCB: I noticed you are a “Country Music” Singer/Songwriter. Why did you choose Country?

AMANDA JO: I started out singing Musical Theatre and Opera when I was a kid. One day I heard LeAnn Rimes sing, “Blue” and I was hooked! That was the moment I fell in love with country music and I’ve never looked back. I’m a fan of most genres of music but country music just grabs me. Nothing makes me feel quite like country music does. I absolutely love the sound of a fiddle or banjo or steel guitar.

TCB: Have you ever performed for a Foundation, Charity, Organization, etc. where all proceeds go to them?

AMANDA JO: Yes I have! I’ve been a part of numerous benefit concerts and they are always so much fun. It’s a great feeling to be able to help others, especially when you get to do what you love in the process.

TCB: If you could choose 2 Country Artists to open for, who would they be and why?

AMANDA JO: Wow, this is a tough question! Hmm. It’s hard to narrow it down to just two artists. I’d love to open for Taylor Swift because she’s playing these amazing stadiums and venues all over the world. And probably Brad Paisley because I’ve secretly always wanted to do a duet with him. Plus he has a really fun sense of humor.

TCB: If you ever come to Arkansas, can I have a few back stage passes? LOL (I live in Arkansas!)

AMANDA JO: Yes! Of course! I will hook you up!
TCB: What a sweetheart you are! 🙂

TCB: What would you say has been the “Highlight” of your music career?

AMANDA JO: This is another tough question! There have been many incredible moments throughout the years. The two biggest from when I was younger were singing the National Anthem at the Minnesota Timberwolves game and singing with The Minnesota Opera. More recently, singing at The Whisky a Go-Go in Hollywood, CA was a really awesome moment for me.

TCB: Where can our viewers find all of your music, fan pages, etc.?

AMANDA JO: Click the following links to automatically be directed.
Reverbnation iTunes Facebook Twitter YouTube

TCB: Is there anything else you’d like to add that I didn’t cover in this interview?

AMANDA JO: I just want to say thank you to everyone who has supported me and my music. Your love and encouragement means the world to me. Thanks for, showing up at the shows, buying the EP, and sending me encouraging tweets and messages. I’m so grateful for all of you!

And there you have it. What it’s like for Nashville Artist “Amanda Jo”! It can’t be easy living & performing in Nashville. I know, how can I say that and I’ve never been there, right? Well, I’ve done a lot of research on Nashville. And I have a few friends that have been. So, I’m just going by what I’ve researched and been told.

But I’m sure you all know that even an artist NOT living in Nashville, has a hard time making time for things like this. So with that said, I want to say “Thank You” again to Amanda Jo for taking time to get back with me, so everyone out there can see what it’s like for her. Get to know a few things about her. Follow her on Twitter, Facebook, and everywhere else you can find her. Tweet Amanda Jo and ya never know, she just may tweet ya back (I’m going to say “she WILL tweet you back”.

Everyone I’ve interviewed to date, I have found to be VERY interactive with their fans! So go check em all out. Show Amanda Jo some love today, tomorrow, and for the rest of your life! Listen to her music, ya just might like it. I do!

TheCountryBuzzz
Remember you can now follow The Country Buzzz on many different sites. Follow the blog via email, etc. Just use the links on the Left Side Bar to do so!

