Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

New to the Country Music Industry is a handsome young man: Noel DeLisle I had the opportunity to speak with Noel briefly via Direct Message a day or so ago and asked him if he was interested in doing an interview for an online article and he was more than happy to do so. 🙂 The more interviews I do, the more I feel honored and blessed to be doing what I’m doing. Below you can read Noel’s interview. His story is rather interesting!

Photo Credit: Noel's Official Website ©Noel DeLisle

Photo Credit: Noel’s Official Website
©Noel DeLisle

 

Q: Can you give us a little bio about yourself?
A: Sure! I’m relatively new to the country music scene, but I’ve been performing and recording for years. My musical roots originate in formal classical music study in both voice and piano. I honed my techniques through practice and performances all the way through the collegiate level. I had the privilege of being mentored by professors from The Julliard School, Vanderbilt University, University of Tennessee, Westminster Choir College, and Concordia Choir College (just to name a few). During high school and college, I began expanding into the musical arena of composition as well.

After college, I ventured into the alternative and hard rock scene, and had the honor of sharing the stage with mainstream acts including: Linkin Park, Saliva, Drowning Pool, Halestorm, 12 Stones, Hollywood Undead and others.

After suggestions from many of my fans regarding my original songs, I decided to make the transition to becoming a country artist. I utilized all the technology I had used as a touring rock artist to my live country performances, and now even as a solo country artist, I have the ability to perform live to self-recorded studio backing tracks, giving the illusion of a “full-band” sound. I also have been able to write, record and produce my entire debut country album release myself, and I’m extremely excited about the “Love & Lossalbum release which is slated for later this year.

Q: How long have you been in the music industry?
A: Well I started taking formal piano lessons at the age of 3, and formal voice lessons at the age of 12…but I’ve been in the recording/performing side of the music industry since the mid 90’s. As for recording/performing as a country artist, I’ve been in the industry within the country genre for about 2-3 years now.

Q: Growing up, did you have anyone in particular that inspired you to make a career in music?
A: I really can’t think of one person specifically that inspired me to make a career in music…honestly, each person that taught me, or helped me grow musically, ultimately shaped my desire to make a career in music.

Q: Are you currently signed with a Record Label?
A: I am currently signed with Apparatus Music Group (AMG), an independent label based out of Nashville, TN.

Q: Do you currently have a manager that handles things for you, or do you do everything yourself?
A: I will be transferring a lot of duties to a manager in the very near future, but currently I manage all of my music-related duties myself.

Q: Do you write your own music?
A: I write all of my own lyrics, music and songs. (Although, I do love covering other artist’s songs from time to time as well just for fun.)
TCB: I’ve actually heard some artist cover someone else’s song and sound better than the original artist. Sad to say that, but it’s just my opinion.

Q: If so, what age were you when you wrote your first song?
A: I was 12 years old when I wrote my first original song.

Q: What was the title of that song?
A: The song was called “A Christmas Story” and detailed the events leading up to the birth of Jesus as a baby.

Q: What or Who was your inspiration for the lyrics?
A: I was inspired by numerous composers and arrangers at the time, but I was mostly driven to write an original song as a result of a music camp I was attending at the time.

Q: Have you been given the opportunity to do very many of these types of interviews?
A: I’ve done a few online interviews in the past, but this will be the first one I will have done as country artist.
TCB: Okay, now I REALLY feel honored 🙂

Q: Have you been lucky enough to travel outside of the country to perform?
A: Not as a country artist, but I have traveled outside of the country for performances as a classical pianist, as well as a vocalist in ensembles.

Q: If you could choose 1 artist to open for, who would you choose and why?
A: At this point in my musical career, I’d have to say I would love to open for Luke Bryan. Luke and I share many of the same musical passions and talents, and not only would I love to open for him on stage, but I think we could have a blast performing and creating music together as well.

Q: Do you or have you ever performed a benefit concert where all proceeds go to an organization, foundation, cause? (Which one?)
A: I have a deep passion for charitable organizations, and have founded 2 myself actually. One of the charities that I founded was inherently music-based (Rock the Streets – benefit rock concerts that raised money for homeless Americans.)
I’ve also performed concerts for Relay for Life, To Write Love On Her Arms, March of Dimes, and many others. I’m currently slated to perform this summer at a benefit event for Wounded Wear (This organization provides free customized clothing for combat wounded vets/purple heart recipients).

Q: Other than the U.S., but if you could choose 1 country to travel to and perform many concerts, where would you choose?
A: I would love to perform in Australia! Not only does that country fascinate me, but I hear that they are huge supporters of American country music!
TCB: I’ve actually heard the same exact thing! I’d love to go to Australia myself.

Q: A young man approaches you and asks you for advice on how to become a successful artist, what do you say to him?
A: The number one thing I would tell a young artist is to develop your musical skills. Take every opportunity to take formal lessons, work with more experienced musicians, go to camps or workshops, or even attend college for music. The more you hone your natural skills, the better of a musician you will be, and the more doors to future success will open for you.

Q: Where can our viewers find all of your music, fan pages, etc.?
A: Well, simply typing my name into Google will give you close to 30 pages of search reviews, but I would suggest checking out the links below instead ha:
Official Website: http://Music.NoelDOfficial.com
Facebook Page: http://facebook.com/NoelDMusic
Twitter: http://twitter.com/NoelDeLisle OR CLICK HERE–> NoelDeLisle
Reverbnation
: http://reverbnation.com/NoelDMusic
YouTube: http://youtube.com/NoelDeLisle
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/Noel-DeLisle

Q: Is there anything else you’d like to add that we didn’t cover in this interview?
A: Well first off, I want to thank The Country Buzzz for giving me the opportunity to do this interview with you! Also, I want to give a shout out to all my amazingly supportive fans…without you guys I wouldn’t be where I am today!

I am pleased to say this is MY FIRST interview with a “Signed Artist”. So, with that being said, I hope I didn’t ask some of the silliest questions. And I feel very honored to be interviewing a Country Music Artist, with a Record Deal. Thank You!

Noel seems to be doing very well for himself. He has taken himself from one scene to another and appears to be doing quite well with the transition. I can’t wait to continue this journey with you and your career. Please keep me up to date with new happenings so I can update this Interview as much as it’s needed.

Oh, and by the way Mr. DeLisle, if you are ever in Arkansas for any reason, performing, I better get backstage passes LOL. Seriously though, I’ve listened to your music, I love it, and I would LOVE to see you perform live!

Thank You for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer these questions. I will go to sleep tonight with a smile on my face. Because its people like you, and the other artists, songwriters, producers, etc. that have given me this opportunity, that are making MY dreams come true while I do my best to help y’all increase your fan base and get the recognition y’all deserve!

Don’t hesitate to keep in touch and ask me to update anything on here. I will do what I can, when I can! Good luck and best wishes to you and your career (country music rocks).

TheCountryBuzzz

 

